On this page
- Quick picks
- How I chose
- The kits, picked by flock size
- Why the bird count needs an interior floor check
- How big a kit your flock needs
- Prefab chicken coop kits for 10 to 15 chickens
- Chicken coop kits for 20 chickens
- How much does a chicken coop kit cost?
- Wood or plastic
- What to look for in a chicken coop kit
- Kit chicken coop or build from plans?
- What owners say about kits
- Pair the kit with the right run
- Upgrades every kit needs
- Shipping and assembly
- Cold climates
Choose chicken coop kits by usable indoor floor area: 2.5 to 3.5 square feet per bird (Cornell Cooperative Extension). The exterior dimensions below set capacity ceilings, not confirmed indoor capacity, because walls and nest projections eat usable space. Shortlist the OverEZ Medium for its published features and the Omaha for value, then ask for interior measurements before you choose either for your flock.
This page is part of the chicken coops hub. If you want a coop you can stand up in, read the walk-in coop guide. If you want to move the coop around the yard, read the portable coop guide.
Prices are what Chicken Coop HQ displayed on 2026-10-09, with the list price in parentheses. Retailer sale banners run long, so confirm the price in the cart.
Quick picks
| Pick | Kit | Maker’s claim | Exterior-area ceiling* | Material | Price (checked 2026-10-09) | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | OverEZ Medium | Up to 10 | 5 to 7 | Wood, resin-treated floor | $1,699 (list $1,999) | Check price |
| Best value | Rugged Ranch Omaha | 6 to 10 | 6 to 8 | Solid wood | $1,184.99 (list $1,449.99) | Check price |
| Best for a bigger flock | OverEZ Large | Up to 15 | 8 to 12 | Wood, resin-treated floor | $2,299 (list $2,599) | Check price |
| Best budget | Emmett Star Country Coop & Run | Up to 4 | 1 to 2 | Fir wood | $439.99 (list $549.99) | Check price |
| Best plastic | SnapLock Large | Up to 10 | 4 to 6 | Polyethylene | $899 (list $989), pre-order only | Check price |
*Published exterior footprint divided by Cornell’s 2.5 to 3.5 square feet per bird, with each endpoint rounded down. These are ceilings under the two space allowances, not approved flock sizes. Interior floor is smaller; OverEZ dimensions include nest boxes, and Omaha’s dimension order is unclear.
How I chose
I picked kits whose makers publish real dimensions and a clear parts list, then checked each one against two extension space rules. This page ranks on published specs, extension guidance and owner reports. It makes no claims about build quality from use. The method is on how we research.
Every figure comes from a linked page. I used Chicken Coop HQ for all five kits because it shows the prices, capacity claims and dimensions in one place. The pages do not state every spec, so I mark gaps as “not stated” instead of guessing.
The kits, picked by flock size
Each card gives the maker’s claim and published dimensions. Exterior-area estimates help rule out undersized options; they do not confirm usable capacity. Gaps in the spec lists are gaps on the retailer page.
OverEZ Medium Chicken Coop Kit
a small-flock shortlist when you want a wood coop with published vents and windows
- Maker's capacity
- Up to 10 chickens
- Outer size
- 50¼ x 52½ x 62¼ in, includes nest box
- Floor area (outer)
- About 18 sq ft
- Nest boxes
- 3, lockable
- Roosts
- 2
- Ventilation
- Two vents per gable end, one screened window
- Weight
- 345 lb (465 lb shipped by freight)
- Run
- Sold separately, four sizes
- Complete spec sheet: nest boxes, roosts, vents and window all listed
- Resin-treated wood floor and vented metal roof
- Three nest boxes cover up to 8 hens by Penn State's count
- Maker says assembly takes under 30 minutes with a screw gun
- Exterior-area ceiling is 5 to 7 hens; usable interior must be confirmed
- Hardware cloth on the coop is not stated; the wire named on the page is on the optional runs
- Ships by freight and needs a driveway a 50-foot truck can reach
Rugged Ranch Omaha Chicken Coop
a lower-cost wood-coop shortlist, after confirming the interior dimensions
- Maker's capacity
- Up to 10; 'ideal for 6-10 standard size hens'
- Size
- 63 x 48 x 60 in (the page does not label length, width and height)
- Floor area (outer)
- About 21 sq ft
- Nest boxes
- 4, reachable from all sides
- Roosts
- 3 (2 inside, 1 in the underneath yard)
- Material
- Solid wood
- Weight
- 153 lb
- Lowest price of the full-size wood kits
- Four nest boxes and three roosts
- Small screened yard under the coop
- Dimension order is unclear; confirm usable indoor area before choosing flock size
- Wire type is not stated, so plan to check or replace it
- The built-in run needs its own space check
- Freight delivery may add a $150 liftgate fee
What owners report
One reviewer on the retailer page assembled it in about an hour. Another found the instructions poor, with pictures only.
OverEZ Large Chicken Coop Kit
the largest wood-kit shortlist here; confirm usable interior before planning for 10 hens
- Maker's capacity
- Up to 15 chickens
- Outer size
- 74 x 60 x 72½ in, includes nest box
- Floor area (outer)
- About 31 sq ft
- Nest boxes
- 5, lockable
- Roosts
- 2
- Ventilation
- Two vents per gable end, two screened windows
- Weight
- 730 lb (880 lb shipped by freight)
- Run
- Sold separately; a walk-in run is 6 ft 6 in x 7 ft 6 in x 6 ft 3 in
- The tallest and most spacious kit here
- Five nest boxes cover up to 16 hens by Penn State's count
- Two screened windows plus gable vents
- The 15-hen claim equals 2 square feet per bird with no floor lost to walls or nest boxes
- 730 lb: plan the delivery and the pad before you order
- Only two roosts listed; check roost length against 6 inches per bird
What owners report
Reviewers on the retailer page report assembly in about 30 minutes with four people, about an hour with two and about two hours alone.
Emmett Star Country Chicken Coop & Run
a very small flock only after checking usable floor and adding a suitable run
- Maker's capacity
- Up to 4 chickens
- Coop size
- 38 x 26 x 34 in
- Run size
- 64 x 26 x 34 in
- Total size
- 75 x 26 x 46 in
- Coop floor area (outer)
- About 7 sq ft
- Nest boxes
- 2, with a locking lift door
- Roosts
- 2
- Material
- Waterproof fir, asphalt roof, iron wire mesh (gauge not stated)
- Weight
- 56 lb
- Cheapest kit in this roundup
- Light at 56 lb
- Coop and run come together
- The run's exterior footprint is about 11.5 square feet; confirm usable area and plan a larger enclosure
- Wire gauge is not stated
- Exterior-area ceiling is 1 to 2 hens at Cornell's range; usable indoor floor is smaller
What owners report
One reviewer on the retailer page calls it easy to assemble.
SnapLock Large Chicken Coop
a light, tool-free small-coop shortlist, after confirming usable indoor area
- Maker's capacity
- Up to 10 standard hens
- Size
- 64 x 39 x 42 in
- Floor area (outer)
- About 17 sq ft
- Nest boxes
- 4
- Roosts
- 3 perches, 36 in each
- Vents
- 2, adjustable
- Material
- Double-walled polyethylene
- Weight
- 60 lb
- Warranty
- One year on manufacturing defects
- Snaps together with no tools
- 60 lb, so it moves and stores easily
- Four nest boxes and 108 inches of perch
- Listed as pre-order only on 2026-10-09
- Not returnable
- Wire type is not stated, and the manual decides whether you can drill into it
What owners report
One reviewer on the retailer page doubts it would hold ten full-size chickens, though it might hold ten bantams. Another advises assembling the top in pieces on the base, because the full top would not snap.
Why the bird count needs an interior floor check
The kits here advertised for up to 10 hens have published exterior footprints around 17 to 21 square feet. Those rectangles include space the birds might not be able to use. The estimates below show why the marketing count needs a separate interior check.
Two extension sources give different allowances. Cornell Cooperative Extension asks for 2.5 to 3.5 square feet inside per bird and 4 to 5 more outside. Penn State Extension sets a lower indoor floor: 1.5 square feet per laying hen and 2 for large chickens, with 8 and 10 square feet of run. Choose your planning allowance and apply it to measured usable floor; the advertised count does not establish which rule the maker uses.
| Kit | Maker’s claim | Outer footprint | Exterior area (sq ft) | Exterior ceiling at 2.5 to 3.5 sq ft (down) | Exterior ceiling at 2 sq ft (down) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OverEZ Medium | Up to 10 | 50¼ x 52½ in | 18.3 | 5 to 7 | 9 |
| Rugged Ranch Omaha | 6 to 10 | 63 x 48 in | 21.0 | 6 to 8 | 10 |
| OverEZ Large | Up to 15 | 74 x 60 in | 30.8 | 8 to 12 | 15 |
| Emmett Star Country (coop only) | Up to 4 | 38 x 26 in | 6.9 | 1 to 2 | 3 |
| SnapLock Large | Up to 10 | 64 x 39 in | 17.3 | 4 to 6 | 8 |
The OverEZ footprints include the nest box, so usable floor is smaller than shown. The Omaha page does not label its dimensions; its row assumes the two larger figures describe the footprint and needs seller confirmation. Nest-box counts alone cannot settle capacity: Penn State asks for two nests for the first four hens and one more per four after that, but indoor floor, roosts and run space still need separate checks.
How big a kit your flock needs
Count the hens you plan to keep, then compare the required space below with the seller’s measured interior. The exterior-area calculations guide your shortlist but cannot confirm that a kit fits your flock. No clearly labelled footprint here reaches Cornell’s indoor range for 15 hens; Omaha’s dimensions need clarification.
| Hens | Indoor floor, Cornell (2.5 to 3.5 sq ft) | Indoor floor, Penn State minimum (1.5 sq ft) | Run, Cornell (4 to 5 sq ft) | Run, Penn State (8 sq ft) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 | 8 to 11 sq ft | 4.5 sq ft | 12 to 15 sq ft | 24 sq ft |
| 6 | 15 to 21 sq ft | 9 sq ft | 24 to 30 sq ft | 48 sq ft |
| 10 | 25 to 35 sq ft | 15 sq ft | 40 to 50 sq ft | 80 sq ft |
| 15 | 38 to 53 sq ft | 22.5 sq ft | 60 to 75 sq ft | 120 sq ft |
Match this table to usable indoor area, excluding nest projections and exterior overhangs. The OverEZ Large is the only clearly labelled footprint here that reaches the lower Cornell allowance for 10 hens; its actual interior still needs confirmation. For 15 hens, compare larger options in the walk-in coop guide and request their interior floor plans.
Prefab chicken coop kits for 10 to 15 chickens
For chicken coop kits for 10-15 chickens, ask the seller for the usable indoor floor dimensions before paying. Using Cornell’s 2.5 to 3.5 square feet per bird, the calculated indoor ranges are 25 to 35 square feet for 10 hens and 37.5 to 52.5 square feet for 15. These figures describe space the birds can use, not the shipping footprint or the combined coop-and-run area.
The OverEZ Large is a candidate for 10 hens only after confirming its interior: the retailer’s dimensions include a projecting nest box. Its outer footprint does not reach Cornell’s lower indoor figure for 15 hens. For that flock, I would compare larger walk-in prefab kits rather than try to make the advertised capacity fit.
Ask whether the seller’s plan includes the nest-box projection, roof overhang or an underneath run in its dimensions. Separate those spaces on paper. External nests do not add standing floor inside the house; an attached outdoor run does not replace indoor shelter.
Chicken coop kits for 20 chickens
None of these five kits is my recommendation for 20 chickens. Cornell’s indoor range calculates to 50 to 70 square feet of usable floor for that flock. Start with a larger walk-in kit whose interior plan clears the space you choose, then check roost length, access and ventilation separately.
An 8 by 8 foot interior gives 64 square feet, or 3.2 square feet per bird for 20 hens. That is a worked planning example within Cornell’s range, not a claim about any product’s advertised exterior. Walls, partitions and equipment shrink the real usable area.
Use the walk-in coop guide to compare larger buildings and the run sizing guide to plan the separate outdoor enclosure. Request a measured floor plan if the listing gives only a bird count.
How much does a chicken coop kit cost?
The five kits on this page cost $439.99 to $2,299 on 2026-10-09, before a run, hardware cloth or freight extras. Across Chicken Coop HQ’s whole coop collection the same day, prices ran from $229.99 for a 2-bird hutch to $4,399. Bird-count claims tell you little about value, so compare price against floor area instead.
| Kit | Price (checked 2026-10-09) | List price | Exterior-area ceiling, hens | Price per hen at that ceiling |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emmett Star Country Coop & Run | $439.99 | $549.99 | 1 to 2 | $220 to $440 |
| SnapLock Large | $899, pre-order only | $989 | 4 to 6 | $150 to $225 |
| Rugged Ranch Omaha | $1,184.99 | $1,449.99 | 6 to 8 | $148 to $198 |
| OverEZ Medium | $1,699 | $1,999 | 5 to 7 | $243 to $340 |
| OverEZ Large | $2,299 | $2,599 | 8 to 12 | $192 to $287 |
The per-hen column divides the sale price by the exterior-area ceilings from the quick picks table, so read it as a best case. Once you subtract walls and nest projections, each kit holds fewer hens and costs more per bird.
Every kit carries costs the sticker leaves out:
- Hardware cloth for every vent and window, because several of these kits do not state their wire gauge. The predator-proofing cost section lists the materials and how to size them.
- A run, unless the kit includes one. Penn State’s minimum is 8 square feet per laying hen, so six hens need a 48 square foot run.
- A second latch on every door and nest lid.
- Freight extras. The Omaha’s freight may add a $150 liftgate fee, and the OverEZ Medium needs a driveway a 50-foot truck can reach.
Sale prices beat list prices by $90 to $300 on these five kits, and the retailer’s sale banners run long. Check the cart total before you pay. If you need a coop you can stand in, the walk-in coop guide’s price ladder starts at $1,395 for a 4 by 4 and climbs with footprint.
Wood or plastic
Wood is the better default for most keepers because you can screw hardware cloth into it and repair it. Plastic wins on weight and cleanup. On the pages above, the SnapLock Large is double-walled polyethylene at 60 lb and snaps together with no tools, while the OverEZ Medium is wood with a resin-treated floor at 345 lb.
Weight cuts both ways. A 60 lb coop is easy to place and easy to move for cleaning. A 345 lb coop stays put. Either way, a coop that sits flat on the ground gives rats and snakes a home underneath. Raise the coop about a foot off the ground and keep the floor tight (Colorado State Extension).
What to look for in a chicken coop kit
Look past the bird count to five things: a clean-out tray or a door you can reach every corner through, locks on every door, the warranty, the return policy and what the base price leaves out. The retailer pages for these five kits differ on all of them.
| Kit | Clean-out | Locks | Warranty | Returnable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OverEZ Medium | No tray listed; full-size man door | Keyed locks on doors and nest boxes | 1 year, manufacturing defects | No |
| Rugged Ranch Omaha | Extra-large removable pan | Not stated | 30 days, manufacturing defects | No |
| OverEZ Large | No tray listed; full-size man door | Keyed locks on doors and nest boxes | 1 year, manufacturing defects | No |
| Emmett Star Country | Removable tray | Two lockable doors with metal bolts | 1 year, limited | No |
| SnapLock Large | Slide-out waste mat and removable litter tray | “All access points are lockable” | 1 year, manufacturing defects | No |
Sources: the retailer pages for the OverEZ Medium, Omaha, OverEZ Large, Emmett Star and SnapLock, read 2026-10-20.
None of the five is returnable, so measure the spot and confirm the interior before you pay. OverEZ’s one-year warranty excludes wind, rain, snow, hail and normal wear, so it covers a bad panel, not storm damage. Rugged Ranch’s 30 days is the shortest here; inspect the parts the day the freight arrives.
What comes in the box varies as much. The OverEZ kits arrive as painted, pre-assembled panels with the hardware, doors, window, nest boxes and metal roof already installed, plus a set of keys and touch-up paint. Wheels, an automatic door, a feeder, a waterer and an electrical heat package cost extra, and so do the runs. The Omaha includes a small screened yard underneath but its feeder and waterer are optional. If you want the door to open at dawn without you, the automatic coop door guide covers doors that fit most kits.
Kit chicken coop or build from plans?
A kit chicken coop wins when your time is worth more than the price gap and the kit’s interior fits your flock. Building wins when you want more floor than any kit in your budget offers.
A middle path is a local pre-cut kit. One builder posting in a backyard chicken group listed pre-cut coop kits from 4 by 6 to 7 by 8 feet, priced by size. Local kits skip freight and you can see the lumber before you pay, but check the same things: interior floor, wire type, roost height and latches.
Whichever way you go, the extension numbers do not change. Size the floor with the table above, put hardware cloth on every opening and build the roosts higher than the nests.
What owners say about kits
The repeated owner complaints are small size and thin build, and the fix is the same: size by floor area and reinforce the wire. One member of a beginners’ group finds most kits sold online small and poorly made. Watch for three more problems: roosts set below the nests, a roof that needs a cover to keep the whole unit dry, and a price that can top building a bigger coop from lumber.
The forum threads are worth ten minutes before you order. r/BackYardChickens has Recs or warnings for buying a metal coop kit?, New Chicken Coop & Run - Build vs Buy? and Prefab Plastic shed (for coop) for 25+ chickens?. Treat maker marketing as marketing.
Pair the kit with the right run
A kit is half a setup, because extension run space is several times the coop floor. Penn State asks for 8 square feet of run per laying hen and 10 for large birds. Cornell asks for 4 to 5.
OverEZ sells its runs separately in four sizes, from 7 feet by 8 feet up to 6 feet 6 inches by 15 feet. A 7 by 8 foot run is 56 square feet, which gives a ceiling of 7 hens at Penn State’s 8 square feet each. The 6 foot 6 by 7 foot 6 walk-in run is about 49 square feet, giving a ceiling of 6 hens before space lost to equipment. Those run calculations do not establish the OverEZ Medium’s indoor capacity; confirm the usable coop floor separately. The run planning guide works through the rest.
Upgrades every kit needs
Every kit needs hardware cloth, a better latch and a roost check before the first hen moves in. None of these is exotic, and all of them are cheaper than losing a bird.
- Hardware cloth over every vent, window and gap. You lose fewer birds with 1-by-2-inch mesh or smaller welded wire (Colorado State Extension). Half-inch hardware cloth is the standard answer; the hardware cloth guide covers gauge and how much to buy. Several kits here do not state their wire gauge.
- A two-step latch on every door. Colorado State’s advice is to keep the coop locked at night. Raccoons have hands, and I would not trust a simple slide bolt. The predator-proofing guide has the full list.
- Roosts above the nest boxes. If the roost bars sit lower than the nests, hens sleep in the nests. Set roosts 18 to 24 inches above the floor, 6 inches per bird (Penn State). Check this on your kit before the first night.
- Open vents, covered with wire. Put openings on the side away from prevailing wind and not over the perches (Penn State). The ventilation guide shows how much vent area you need, and the nesting box guide covers the 12 by 12 inch minimum.
Shipping and assembly
Most kits here ship free by ground or freight inside the lower 48. Chicken Coop HQ offers free standard shipping within the contiguous US and quotes elsewhere. The heavy kits are different: the OverEZ Medium ships by freight and needs a driveway a 50-foot truck can reach, and freight on the Omaha may add a $150 liftgate fee.
Assembly claims vary. OverEZ claims under 30 minutes with a screw gun for the Medium. Reviewers on the Large’s page report 30 minutes with four people and about two hours alone. Plan for the long number, and plan for a second person to hold the roof.
Cold climates
None of the five spec lists shows an insulation rating, so none ranks for cold climates here. The coop insulation guide covers what to add before the first freeze; get the air dry before you think about heat.
Questions people ask
How many chickens fit in a coop kit?
Ask for usable indoor floor dimensions, then divide that area by Cornell's 2.5 to 3.5 square feet per bird and round down. Exterior dimensions can include nest projections and walls, so they only give a capacity ceiling. Check the separate run, roosts and ventilation too.
Are cheap coop kits worth it?
Yes, if its measured interior suits your flock and you fix weak wire and latches. Confirm the usable floor before you buy.
Should I buy a wood or plastic chicken coop?
Wood is heavier, easier to screw hardware cloth into and easier to repair. Plastic is light and hoses clean. The SnapLock Large weighs 60 lb against 345 lb for the OverEZ Medium. Pick wood unless the kit's manual says you can drill into the plastic.
How much does a chicken coop cost?
Chicken Coop HQ listed coops from $229.99 (a 2-bird hutch) to $4,399 on 2026-10-09, with the 4-bird kits from about $440 and the 10-bird kits between $900 and $1,700. Budget extra for a run and hardware cloth. For a coop you can stand in, see the walk-in coop guide.
Can you return a chicken coop kit?
Not at this retailer. The OverEZ, Rugged Ranch, Emmett Star and SnapLock pages on Chicken Coop HQ all say their coops are not returnable, and they handle damaged or defective arrivals case by case. Warranties run from 30 days (Rugged Ranch) to one year (OverEZ, Emmett Star, SnapLock), for manufacturing defects only.
Is it cheaper to build a chicken coop than buy a kit?
Usually, if you already own the tools and value your time low. A kit saves the design work and most of the cutting, and the better ones arrive as pre-assembled panels.
Sources
- Penn State Extension: Small-scale poultry housing
- Cornell Cooperative Extension Warren County: Backyard chickens
- Colorado State University Extension: Chickens and predators
- Chicken Coop HQ: Chicken coops collection (prices, capacity claims, shipping)
- Chicken Coop HQ: OverEZ Medium Chicken Coop Kit
- Chicken Coop HQ: OverEZ Large Chicken Coop Kit
- Chicken Coop HQ: Rugged Ranch Omaha Chicken Coop
- Chicken Coop HQ: Emmett Star Country Chicken Coop & Run
- Chicken Coop HQ: SnapLock Large Chicken Coop
- Facebook group post: Sturdy chicken coop and run kits for 8-10 hens




